Our Board

Georgia Ports Executive Board

The Georgia Ports Authority is governed by a board of directors consisting of 13 members appointed by the governor for four-year staggered terms. Members are appointed from throughout the state and meet bi-monthly.

Message From the Chairman


Kent Fountain
Chairman, Screven

The deepwater ports of Savannah and Brunswick are making supply chains more competitive and better-connected year-in, year-out.

New customers discover the ease of doing business through Georgia, the reliability of our port services, our strategic location for the distribution of imports, and the growth opportunities we generate for exporters through our connectivity to world markets.  

The most recent data show Savannah accounts for 11.4 percent of the nation’s loaded container trade, and growing. We anticipate this growth trend in Georgia to continue, with additional cargo owners relying on Savannah to serve inland destinations across the Southeast and beyond, including markets such as Dallas and Chicago.

GPA is growing in national and global prominence because cargo owners and their logistics providers are mitigating uncertainty through the reliability and connectivity that Georgia Ports deliver.

We’re excited about the possibilities ahead, with major infrastructure projects delivering greater capacity and efficiency for our customers.

Beyond our terminals, Georgia is home to a thriving ecosystem across multiple industry sectors, and an unmatched logistics network, including major interstates, the Southeast’s most extensive rail network, and the world’s busiest airport, Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International. Another major benefit is the collaboration between local and state leaders. Potential employers appreciate the cooperation evident at every level.

GPA works with the Governor’s Office, the Georgia Department of Economic Development and local authorities across Georgia to help recruit new business – and our state’s collaborative approach definitely enhances that process.

Being prepared to take advantage of opportunities as they arise requires steady leadership and an eye toward long-term trends. The foresight of current and former GPA Board members and our innovative Georgia Ports team have made our terminals the best run ports in the nation, and set our customers on a course for a thriving future.

FY2024 BOARD MEMBERS (July 1, 2023 - June 30, 2024)

Kent D. Fountain | Chairman, Screven Alec L. Poitevint, II | Vice Chairman, Bainbridge
Christopher C. Womack | Secretary and Treasurer, Greensboro James L. Allgood, Jr. | Member, Dublin
Leda Chong | Member, Savannah David J. Cyr | Member, Perry
Don A. Grantham, Sr. | Member, Augusta Douglas J. Hertz | Member, Atlanta
Martin "Trey" E. Kilpatrick, III | Ex-Officio, Atlanta William D. McKnight | Member, Augusta
Benjamin J. Tarbutton, III | Member, Sandersville Philip Wilheit, Jr. | Member, Gainesville
Joel Wooten | Member, Columbus